Zethembe Khoza to continue as the Chairperson of Eskom board

Zethembe Khoza, to continues as the Eskom Board Chairperson
Zethembe Khoza, to continues as the Eskom Board Chairperson

Eskom’s current interim Chairperson Zethembe Khoza will continue to head the South African power utility’s board for the next three years following Cabinet’s approval of a new board.

In a statement on Friday, the Ministry of Public Enterprises announced that Cabinet has approved the nine member board that will serve a three-year term subject to an annual review.

The board comprises:

  1. Chairperson Zethembe Khoza,
  2. Dr Pat Naidoo,
  3. Giovanni Leonardi,
  4. Dr Pulane Molokwane,
  5. Simphiwe Dingaan,
  6. Dr Banothile Makhubela,
  7. Sathiaseelan Gounden,
  8. Professor Malegapuru Makgoba
  9. Professor Tshepo Mongalo.

Minister Brown announced Khoza’s appointment – as interim chairperson – in June. Khoza was appointed following the resignation of Ben Ngubane.

Professor Makgoba is an internationally recognised public health advocate, and is the current Health Ombud of South Africa. He is a former Principal of the University of KwaZulu-Natal and is the current Deputy Chair of the National Planning Commission.

Professor Mongalo is a legal practitioner and academic, expert in company law and familiar with the environment within which State-Owned Companies operate. He served as Vice-Chairperson of the Department of Trade and Industry’s Specialist Committee on Company Law.

An additional candidate, who has business strategy expertise and was approved by Cabinet, ultimately declined his nomination citing the highly-charged environment in which Eskom is operating.

“This situation reflects the difficulty the Minister has faced in putting together a strong board including people of the necessary calibre and leadership gravitas,” said the Ministry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here