CAF, SAFA, Sports

Bafana Bafana squad to participate in a 4-Nation Tournament

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced a 25-man squad to participate in a 4-Nation Tournament scheduled for Zambia from 22 – 25 March 2018.

Baxter has made 14 changes to the squad that last played against Senegal in November last year in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifier.

He brought in goalkeepers Brendon Peterson and Darren Keet, defenders Reeve Frosler, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso, Buhle Mkhwanazi and Innocent Maela; midfielders Siphesihle Ndlovu, Tebogo Mokoena, Aubrey Modiba and Thembinkosi Lorch, as well as strikers Lebo Mothiba and Ryan Moon.

Bafana squad:

1.Itumeleng KHUNEKaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
2.Darren KEETBidvest Wits FC (SA)
3.Brendon PETERSONAjax Cape Town FC (SA)
4.Reeve  FROSLERBidvest Wits FC (SA)
5.Ramahlwe MPHAHLELEKaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
6.Thulani HLATSHWAYOBidvest Wits FC (SA)
7.Motjeka MADISHAMamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
8.Daniel CARDOSOKaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9.Buhle MKHWANAZIBidvest Wits FC (SA)
10.Innocent MAELAOrlando Pirates FC (SA)
11.S’Fiso HLANTIBidvest Wits FC (SA)
12.Dean FURMANSupersport United FC (SA)
13.Siphesihle NDLOVUMaritzburg United FC (SA)
14.Kamohelo MOKOTJOBrentfort FC (England)
15.Teboho MOKOENASupersport United FC (SA)
16.Bongani ZUNGUAmiens FC (France)
17.Aubrey MODIBASupersport United FC (SA)
18.Sibusiso VILAKAZIMamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
19.Thembinkosi LORCHOrlando Pirates FC (SA)
20.Keagan DOLLYMontpellier FC (France)
21.Phakamani MAHLAMBIAL Ahly FC (Egypt)
22.Themba ZWANEMamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23.Percy TAUMamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
25.Ryan MOONKaizer Chiefs FC (SA)


The other three teams featuring in the double-header event are hosts Zambia, Angola and Zimbabwe.

Zambia is the highest ranked country among all four nations – sitting at 15th on the continent and 76th in the world. Hot on their heels is South Africa, who are 16th and 77th respectively.

Zimbabwe and Angola are ranked 25th (105) and 41st (141).