Cyril Ramaphosa elected as the 14th President of the ANC

Cyril Ramaphosa, ANC

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected as the President for the ruling party African National Congress (ANC) on Monday night with 2,449 votes to 2,261 for Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma.

Cyril Ramaphosa will succeed President Jacob Zuma as the 14th leader of the oldest liberation and struggle movement (Anti-Apartheid Movement) in the Continent of Africa.

He received the majority votes in the party presidential contest held at Nasrec, Johannesburg yesterday. Other Members of the ANC Top-6 Structure were also elected.

Full ANC Top-6

  1. President: Cyril Ramaphosa
  2. Deputy President: David Mabuza
  3. National Chairperson: David Mabuza
  4. General Secretary: Ace Makgashule
  5. Deputy General Secretary: Jessie Duarte
  6. Treasury General: Paul Mashatile

The newly elected ANC Top-6 have the huge task of restoring unity in the party, convince the markets and restore voter confidence.

The rand currency had risen to a nine-month high of 12.5200 earlier, in as the market priced in a Ramaphosa victory.

Government bonds also closed firmer before announcement that Ramaphosa had won the race.

It remains to be seen if the new Top-6 will allow President Zuma to finish his term in the office as the President of South Africa…

Presidents of the ANC





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here